top of page

Writing Prompts

The Unspoken Goodbye


The strangeness of death eats away at me. Every breath, one that has been taken from another. Every heartbeat, a reminder. Love and memories stolen without time ever skipping a beat. Mortality is inevitable. There is no choice in the matter. Not when the time comes. But I intend to say goodbye, even if death has already taken part of my soul, eating away at me until only a tenuous veil separates me from the world of the dead; Even so I will not leave this world without remembering the memories I’ve had, the good memories, one last time. I will not leave, without saying goodbye.


Practice:


Write about a story where death is not imagined, not a nightmare to be forgotten and ignored, but a living breathing entity of possibility and fear, humanity and love, intertwined in a most mystifying way. A story of hope and survival, where life and death are simply a chance; a flip of the coin, a roll of the dice.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page